EVENTS
“The LuK Story. 50 years. Quality. Technology. Innovation.”

“The LuK Story. 50 years.
Quality. Technology. Innovation.”

from June 20 to December 20, 2015 at Schaeffler's Bühl location

Our historic exhibition gives customers, business partners, and employees the opportunity to take a walk through our company’s history, which has been shaped by the spirit of invention and desire for progress.

 
FURTHER INFORMATION
LuK company history

A journey through five decades of LuK, one of the world's largest clutch manufacturers and drive train specialists.
Company history

 
Company

50 Years of LuK

LuK is an integral part of the Schaeffler Group. Over the last five decades, LuK has established itself within the Schaeffler Group as an expert and technology leader in the field of systems and components for vehicle drive trains. It all started in 1965 when the company developed a diaphragm spring clutch with a release system – which to this day remains a groundbreaking innovation and just one of the many to have come from LuK.

 
Diaphragm Spring Clutch

The diaphragm spring clutch is the beginning of luK's success story. Beginning in the mid-1960s, it increasingly replaces the coil spring clutch. Engines with higher torques overtax existing technology. Starting in spring 1965, LuK supplies diaphragm spring clutches to Volkswagen for the "Type 3" mid-size model. This makes this company from Bühl the first European high-volume manufacturer of diaphragm spring clutches.

 
Download
 
 
 
 
Close
  • Start of production: 1965
  • First volume-production application: VW Type 3
  • Manufacturing locations: Bühl, Szombathely, Taicang, Hosur, Sorocaba, Puebla, Port Elizabeth, Ulyanovsk, Rayong
 
 
 
Dual Mass Flywheel

LuK was the first manufacturer in Europe to successfully develop a dual mass flywheel (DMF) for high-volume production. The DMF allows driving in fuel-efficient operating points with increased auditory comfort, and therefore makes a contribution to reducing CO2 emissions and fuel consumption.

 
Download
 
 
 
 
Close
  • Start of production: 1985
  • First volume-production application: BMW 324d
  • Manufacturing locations: Bühl, Szombathely, Taicang
 
 
 
Self-Adjusting Clutch

An innovation by LuK engineers turns clutches from a wearing part into a permanent solution. This is achieved in the mid-1990s through the self-adjusting clutch (SAC), resulting in a longer life and comfort. When the friction lining of a clutch with diaphragm springs is worn, the SAC adjusts itself. Due to the SAC 1 and the enhanced SAC 2, the feel of the clutch pedal remains consistent. The clutch lasts through a long car life.

 
Download
 
 
 
 
Close
  • Start of production: 1993
  • First volume-production application: Ford Ranger
  • Manufacturing locations: Bühl, Wooster, Szombathely, Sorocaba, Puebla, Taicang, Unna

This was followed by development of the traveladjusting, self-adjusting clutch (TAC).

  • Start of production: 2013
  • First volume-production application: Audi A6
  • Manufacturing location: Szombathely
 
 
 
CVT Components

Since they were first launched on the market for high-torque applications, the outstanding features of LuK‘s CVT components have gained a substantial reputation among specialists: In addition to their suitability for high-performance gasoline and diesel engines, the widest possible ratio spread and the high efficiency of the variator are the focus of customers‘ attention. LuK’s multi-link chain is now being used in high-volume production by three international vehicle manufacturers in Europe and Asia.

 
Download
 
 
 
 
Close
  • Start of production: 1999
  • First volume-production application: Audi A6
  • Manufacturing location: Bühl
 
 
 
Dry Double Clutch

The dry double clutch is an innovative development by LuK with great customer benefit. lt permits a high level of driving and shifting comfort while also reducing fuel consumption. In 2008, it is used for the first time in the VW Golf. Two automatically activated clutches arranged successively transmit the engine torque via two input shafts to the transmission. To shift gears, the clutch that has just transmitted the torque opens, the other clutch closes. Both processes happen automatically within one hundredth of a second and without any noticeable interruption of the tractive force.

 
Download
 
 
 
 
Close
  • Start of production: 2008
  • First volume-production application: VW Golf
  • Manufacturing locations: Bühl, Szombathely, Puebla, Taicang
 
 
 
Torque Converter

The current prototype for the integrated torque converter (iTC) is one of the latest innovations by Schaeffler's LuK brand. lt is being prepared for volume production at the Wooster (US) location where converters are developed from 1996 onwards, like they have been at the Bühl location since 1990.

This hydraulic-mechanical component increases the performance and efficiency of the automatic transmission. lt also reduces fuel consumption and C02 emissions. In this way, Schaeffler supports the automobile industry on its way to more efficient mobility for the future.

 
Download
 
 
 
 
Close
  • Start of production: 1997
  • First volume-production application: Allison 4000 transmission, fire fighting truck
  • Manufacturing locations: Wooster, Bühl, Taicang, Puebla

VERANSTALTUNGEN
Die LuK Story. 50 Jahre. Qualität. Technologie. Innovation.

„Die LuK Story. 50 Jahre.
Qualität. Technologie. Innovation.“

20.06. – 20.12.2015
am Schaeffler-Standort
in Bühl

Kunden, Geschäftspartner und Mitarbeiter können in unserer historischen Ausstellung einen Streifzug durch die von Erfindergeist und Fortschrittswillen geprägte Geschichte unseres Unternehmens machen.

 
WEITERE INFORMATIONEN
LuK-Unternehmensgeschichte

Eine Reise durch fünf Jahrzehnte des Unternehmens LuK, einem der weltweit größten Kupplungshersteller und Spezialisten für den Antriebsstrang
Unternehmensgeschichte

 
Unternehmen

50 Jahre LuK

LuK ist integraler Bestandteil der Schaeffler Gruppe. In den letzten fünf Jahrzehnten hat sich LuK innerhalb der Schaeffler Gruppe als Experte und Technologieführer im Bereich Systeme und Komponenten für den Antriebsstrang von Fahrzeugen etabliert. 1965 fing alles mit einer Tellerfederkupplung mit Ausrücksystem an. Bis heute eine bahnbrechende Innovation. Und nur eine von sehr vielen aus dem Hause LuK.

 
Tellerfederkupplung

Die Tellerfederkupplung ist der Startschuss für die LuK-Erfolgsgeschichte. Sie verdrängt ab Mitte der 1960er-Jahre zunehmend die Schraubenfederkupplung. Motoren mit höherem Drehmoment überfordern die bisherige Technologie. LuK beliefert ab dem Frühjahr 1965 Volkswagen mit Tellerfederkupplungen für das Mittelklasse-Modell „Typ 3". Damit sind die Bühler erster europäischer Großserienhersteller für Tellerfederkupplungen.

 
Download
 
 
 
 
Close
  • Entwicklungsjahr: 1965
  • Erster Serieneinbau:
    VW Typ 3
  • Produktionsorte:
    Bühl, Szombathely, Taicang, Hosur, Sorocaba, Puebla, Port Elizabeth, Ulyanovsk, Rayong
 
 
 
Zweimassenschwungrad

Als erstem Hersteller in Europa gelang es LuK, ein Zweimassenschwungrad (ZMS) für die Großserienfertigung zu entwickeln. Das ZMS ermöglicht ein Fahren in verbrauchsgünstigen Betriebspunkten bei hohem Geräuschkomfort und trägt somit zur CO2-Reduktion sowie Kraftstoffersparnis bei.

 
Download
 
 
 
 
Close
  • Entwicklungsjahr: 1985
  • Erster Serieneinbau:
    BMW 324d
  • Produktionsorte: Bühl, Szombathely, Taicang
 
 
 
Selbstnachstellende Kupplung

Kupplungen werden durch eine Innovation der LuK-Ingenieure vom Verschleißteil zur Dauerlösung. Das gelingt Mitte der 1990er-Jahre mit der selbstnachstellenden Kupplung (SAC). Das Ergebnis bringt Lebensdauer und Komfort. Nutzt sich der Reibbelag einer Kupplung mit Tellerfedern ab, stellt sich die SAC selbst nach. Mit der SAC 1 und der weiterentwickelten SAC 2 gibt LuK den Fahrern so ein gleichbleibendes Pedalgefühl. Die Kupplung hält ein langes Autoleben durch.

 
Download
 
 
 
 
Close
  • Entwicklungsjahr: 1993
  • Erster Serieneinbau:
    Ford Ranger
  • Produktionsorte:
    Bühl, Wooster, Szombathely, Sorocaba, Puebla, Taicang, Unna

Danach folgte die Weiterentwicklung zur wegnachstellenden, selbstnachstellenden Kupplung (TAC).

  • Entwicklungsjahr: 2013
  • Erster Serieneinbau:
    Audi A6
  • Produktionsorte: Szombathely
 
 
 
CVT-Komponenten

Seit der ersten Markteinführung im Bereich höhrerer Drehmomente haben sich die herausragenden Eigenschaften der LuK-CVT-Komponenten in der Fachwelt herumgesprochen: Neben der Eignung für leistungsstarke Benzin- und Dieselmotoren stehen die große mögliche Spreizung und auch der gute Wirkungsgrad des Variators im Fokus der Kunden. Die LuK-Laschenkette ist mittlerweile bei drei internationalen Fahrzeugherstellern in Europa und Asien im Großserieneinsatz.

 
Download
 
 
 
 
Close
  • Serienstart: 1999
  • Erster Serieneinbau:
    Audi A6
  • Produktionsorte: Bühl
 
 
 
Trockene Doppelkupplung

Die trockene Doppelkupplung ist eine innovative Entwicklung von LuK mit großem Kundennutzen. Sie ermöglicht hohen Anfahr- und Schaltkomfort bei gleichzeitig reduziertem Kraftstoffverbrauch der Fahrzeuge. Im Jahr 2008 kommt sie im VW Golf erstmals zum Einsatz. Zwei hintereinander automatisch betätigte Kupplungen übertragen das Motordrehmoment über zwei Eingangswellen ins Getriebe. Für den Gangwechsel öffnet sich die eben noch momentübertragende Kupplung, die andere schließt sich. Beides geschieht automatisch innerhalb von Hundertstelsekunden ohne spürbare Zugkraftunterbrechung.

 
Download
 
 
 
 
Close
  • Entwicklungsjahr: 2008
  • Erster Serieneinbau:
    VW Golf
  • Produktionsorte:
    Bühl, Szombathely, Puebla, Taicang
 
 
 
Drehmomentwandler

Der aktuelle Prototyp für den integrierten Drehmomentwandler iTC (Integrated Torque Converter) ist eine der neuesten Innovationen der Schaeffler-Marke LuK. Er wird am Standort Wooster (USA) zur Serienreife gebracht, wo ab 1996 Wandler entwickelt und gefertigt werden, wie schon seit 1990 am Standort Bühl.

Das hydraulisch-mechanische Bauteil erhöht die Leistung und die Effizienz des Automatikgetriebes. Es senkt zudem den Kraftstoffverbrauch und den CO2-Ausstoß. Damit unterstützt Schaeffler die Automobilindustrie auf dem Weg zu einer effizienteren Mobilität für die Zukunft.

 
Download
 
 
 
 
Close
  • Serienstart: 1997
  • Erster Serieneinbau:
    Allison 4000 Getriebe, Feuerwehrfahrzeug
  • Produktionsorte:
    Wooster, Bühl, Taicang, Puebla